Allow Deny

This site uses cookies for retargeting.

We would like to thank to DuPont and ICFMH for the Awards of IPC2018.



The Young Scientist Award and the Best Poster Award of IPC2018 recognize achievements of outstanding young scientists, who are at the beginning of their career and who conduct basic or applied research on probiotics or prebiotics.

DuPont, the platinum sponsor of the conference IPC2018, presented the “Young Scientist Award”. This year the Scientific Committee elected two 1st prizes and decided to share 1000€ award money between them.
The winners of 500 € awards were chosen by the Scientific Committee of IPC2018 and awards were presented during the third day of the conference by President of the IPC2018 – Prof. Sin-Hyeog Im, Chair of the Scientific Committee, Prof. Alojz Bomba, Chair of the Organising Committee and Dr Liisa Lehtoranta from DuPont.


YOUNG SCIENTIST AWARDS and 500 € was presented to:

Houem Rabah from INRA, France for her presentation:
The Cheese Matrix Protects Propionibacterium freudenreichii’s Immunomodulatory Surface Protein SlpB from Proteolysis During Digestion

Houem Rabah


Stefano Colombo from Università degli studi di Milano, Italy for his presentation:
Development of Quality Assessment Protocols for Probiotic Formulations

Stefano Colombo

2rd prize and FOOD&FUNCTION Journal award was presented to:

Kaihei Oki from Yakult Honsha European Research Center for Microbiology ESV, Belgium for his presentation:
Long-Term Colonization Exceeding Six Years From Early Infancy and Colonization Timing of Bifidobacterium longum subsp. longum in Human Gut

Kaihei Oki


The “Best Poster Award of IPC2018” was sponsored by ICFMH – The International Committee on Food Microbiology and Hygiene of the International Union of Microbiological Societies.
The best poster was elected by the Scientific Committee of IPC2018 and the award was presented during the third day of the conference by President of ICFMH – Prof. Dr. Wilhelm Holzapfel and Prof. Alojz Bomba, Chair of the Organising Committee

Best Poster Award - Bomba and Holzapfel

BEST POSTER AWARD and 250€ was presented to:

Camila Mira Sandy from University of São Paulo, Brazil for her poster:
Effects of Perinatal Administration of Saccharomyces Cerevisiae UFMG a-905 on the Prevention of Asthma in the Offspring of Mice

Camila Mira Sandy

2nd place and 150€ was presented to: Radu Ghemis from LEITAT Technological Center, Spain for poster:
The Small Intestine in a Plate: A More Realistic Approach for Caco-2 in Vitro Absorption Models in Co-culture With Microbiota

Best Poster Award at IPC2018

3rd place and 100€ was presented to:  Petra Hermanova from Institute of Microbiology of the Czech Academy of Sciences for her poster:
Germ-free Mice Exhibit Mast Cells With Impaired Functionality and Gut Homing and Do Not Develop Food Allergy

Petra Hermanova